Skip to content

The CSU Wheat Breeding and Genetics Program is staffed by an extremely capable and dedicated team of researchers. Overall, our team has over 100 years of combined experience in wheat breeding spanning the spectrum from applied plant breeding, field trial management, seed production, genetics, experimental design and statistics, field phenotyping, end-use quality analysis, DNA marker analysis, wheat genomics, and bioinformatics. Our team is highly collaborative and dedicated to the improvement of wheat varieties and germplasm for the producers and industry that support our work. Information on our team members may be found below.


Esten Mason, Ph.D. 

Associate Professor of Plant Breeding and Genetics
Wheat Breeder and Project Leader
esten.mason@colostate.edu

img_4545

John Stromberger
Senior Research Associate
Wheat Quality Laboratory Manager and
Field Trial Management
john.stromberger@colostate.edu

seifert

Scott Seifert
Research Associate IV
Greenhouse Manager and Field
Trial Management
scott.seifert@colostate.edu

Emily Hudson-Arns
Research Associate IV
Genotyping Lab Manager and Field
Trial Management
emily.hudson@colostate.edu

tori

Victoria (Tori) Anderson
Research Associate IV
Bioinformatics/Genomics and Field
Trial Management
tori.anderson@colostate.edu

meena

Meenakshi Santra, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate
Doubled Haploid Lab Manager
meenakshi.santra@colostate.edu

hong

Hong Wang
Research Associate III
Doubled Haploid Lab Support
hongw224@gmail.com

Brad Pakish
M.S. Graduate Student
Thesis Research – Wheat Stem Sawfly Resistance in Winter Wheat
bradley.pakish@gmail.com

Meseret photo

Meseret Wondifraw
Ph.D. Graduate Student
Dissertation Research – Grain Protein and Water Absorption in Winter Wheat
meseret.wondifraw@colostate.edu

Mikayla Hammers Photo
Mikayla Hammers
M.S. Graduate Student
Thesis Research – Using Imaging to Determine Wheat Spike Yield Components
mik.hammers@colostate.edu

Scott D. Haley, Ph.D. 
Emeritus Professor of Plant Breeding and Genetics
Former Wheat Breeder and Project Leader
scott.haley@colostate.edu
web page

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA